MWSA Award Winners

These pages list the annual MWSA conference awards and other awards from MWSA. These pages do not include awards from other organizations. See Member News for announcements about awards from other organizations.

2007 MWSA Awards


Special Recognition Awards:

Founders Award: Band of Sisters by Kirsten Holmstedt

President's Award for Outstanding Contribution: Brent Burns

Lifetime Award: Don Hanson

Award for Creativity: My Dad's a Hero - by Rebecca Christiansen and Jewel Armstrong


2006 MWSA Awards


Special Recognition Awards:

Fiction Book of the Year - The Last Spymaster –  Gayle Lynds

Non-Fiction Book of the YearPlaying With The Enemy – Gary Moore

The President’s Award: Is Anybody Listening? – Barbara Birchim

Admiral Nimitz Award for Outstanding Naval FictionSeas of Crisis – Joe Buff


2005 MWSA Awards

2005 MWSA Awards

Special Recognition Awards:

Best Military Novel of the Year Nobody Comes Back – Donn Pearce

Admiral Nimitz Award – For Outstanding Naval Fiction - Torpedo – A Surface Warfare Thriller – Jeff Edwards

MWSA Reader’s Choice AwardSaving Babylon – Paul Holton  


2004 MWSA Awards

2004 MWSA Awards

Special Recognition Awards:

PTSD - Special Healing Award: Enemy Within - by Gregory A. Helle

Gold Medal Awards

Gold Medal Awards Given to books that are superior examples of their genres.

Poetry: Ghost of the Nam - by Charlie Fortner


2014 MWSA Book Award Winners

I'm proud to announce the 2014 MWSA Book Award winners! Congratulations, everyone!



2014 MWSA Award Winners



President’s Award

Joyce Faulkner


Founder’s Award

CTS [Music Video – “Hit-N-Run”]



Historical Fiction:

Gold Medal

Eyes of the Blind by John Huffman


Gold Medal

The Dark Side of Glory by Richard McMahon

Silver Medal

Widow of Gettysburg by Jocelyn Green